Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

Winners announced for Lee County Elections 2019-2020 Arts Vote Contest

May 28, 2020
Cape Coral Daily Breeze

The Lee County Supervisor of Elections Office recently announced the winners of the third annual Arts Vote Contest.

The contest gives students at participating high schools the opportunity to unleash their creativity and talent to the fullest with the intention of promoting civic engagement, voting and patriotism. This year's theme highlighted the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th amendment of the U.S. Constitution, which guaranteed women's constitutional right to vote.

Chloe McCrumb, a sophomore from Cypress Lake High School, won this year's "Best Artwork" category. McCrumb's use of bright colors created a dynamic art piece, which she expressed, "shows how enthusiastic [she is] about WOMEN VOTING!"

Genesis Quiros, also a sophomore from Cypress Lake High School, won this year's "Most Original Artwork" with an art piece depicting the importance of having different perspectives and backgrounds in elections. Quiros wrote, "It is important for women to vote, as they have conquered many hardships to get where they are today."

Supervisor of Elections Tommy Doyle and his panel of judges had the task of selecting the winning pieces from a total of 12 entries.

The Lee County Supervisor of Elections Office will award the winners with a gift card and a certificate of appreciation for participating in the contest. As the winning high school, Cypress Lake will receive a $500 award in an effort to support local schools and the arts.

The participants (in alphabetical order) for Cypress Lake High School were Cassie Adkins, Patricia Gonzalez, Kaitlyn Logue, Melainey Logue, Sophia Morris, Eirini Remboulis, Ricky Riley, Trinity Shain and Sarah Wright, and Julio Gonzalez for North Fort Myers High School.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web