Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

New winter districts released for local schools

March 15, 2019
Cape Coral Daily Breeze

The FHSAA announced new districts and classifications Thursday for winter sports: basketball, soccer, wrestling and girls weightlifting.

Some things of note: North Fort Myers moves a classification higher than its traditional rivals in basketball; Bishop Verot and Oasis girls hoops are in a four-team district, while their boys are in a district twice that size; and Mariner soccer drops a class below the other Lee County West Zone schools and faces a lot more travel time for district matches.

These changes take effect for the 2019-2020 school year.


District 6A-11: North Fort Myers, Fort Myers, Venice, Sarasota, Braden River, Charlotte

District 5A-11: Mariner, Cape Coral, Ida Baker, Island Coast, Port Charlotte, Cypress Lake

Boys only

District 3A-8: Bishop Verot, Oasis, Canterbury, Neumann, Gateway Charter, Bonita Springs, Moore Haven, Community School of Naples

Girls only

District 3A-7: Bishop Verot, Oasis, Canterbury, Moore Haven


District 4A-11: Cape Coral, Ida Baker, Island Coast, North Fort Myers, Cypress Lake, South Fort Myers

District 3A-8: Mariner, Lemon Bay, Labelle, Desoto, Sarasota Booker, Bradenton Bayshore

District 2A-8: Oasis, Bishop Verot, Sarasota Cardinal Mooney, Sarasota Military, Bonita Springs, Canterbury


District 2A-11: Cape Coral, Cypress Lake, Dunbar, Fort Myers, Ida Baker, Island Coast, Mariner, North Fort Myers, South Fort Myers

District A-12: Bonita Springs, Evangelical Christian, Gateway Charter, Imagine School, Labelle, Oasis, Southwest Florida Christian


District 2A-16: East Lee County, Fort Myers, Ida Baker, Island Coast, Lehigh, North Fort Myers, Riverdale, South Fort Myers

District A-7: Bishop Verot, Cape Coral, Bonita Springs, Cypress Lake, Desoto, Estero, Labelle, Lemon Bay, Mariner



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web