Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

Cape High, North High students receive Golden Futures Scholarships

April 6, 2018
Cape Coral Daily Breeze

The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools has announced the recipients of the Golden Futures Scholarship, an initiative designed to identify, support, and hone the talents of Lee County high school students who wish to become teachers.

Recipients Macey Earhart, a senior at North Fort Myers High, and Alana Newell, a senior at Cape Coral High, were surprised on Monday, March 26, at their school with their families and peers looking on.

The Golden Futures Scholarship provides four years of tuition to Florida SouthWestern State College and is awarded annually to deserving high school seniors attending a Lee County District School. Scholarship recipients must exemplify qualities of educational leadership and demonstrate a passion to teach. Recipients receive mentoring and support from members of the Academy of Teachers throughout college and into their initial years in the classroom.

A condition of the scholarship requires recipients to complete a minimum of four years of service to Lee County District Schools upon graduation.

Earhart said she would like to become an elementary school teacher and gain experience in a multitude of grade levels leading to administration. She currently takes college courses while finishing her senior year. She is successful on and off the field as she plays soccer for her high school team where she was also recognized for her hard work. She has a passion for marine biology and history while valuing the support from her family and friends. Her goal as an educator is to impact students lives with a comfortable open atmosphere where they can engage and interact with one another.

Newell is a proactive student who has a love of mathematics and would like to bring that into her classroom as a high school teacher. She currently tutors at Caloosa Elementary, is a part of the LCSD- Student Advisory Committee, volunteers with PACE, is a member of the National Society of High School and Collegiate College and currently takes classes at FSW, which will continue after high school. Her drive to give back to the community and to her classmates derives from her passion to make a change as a teacher in the future. She states that every day is a journey and without her mother, family and friends, she wouldn't be the person she is today.

"Teaching is such an important profession with a lasting impact on the future of any community," said Marshall T. Bower, President & CEO of The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools. "This scholarship program helps us recruit and 'grow our own' teachers that will remain in our community."

Golden Futures Scholarship funding is provided by Florida SouthWestern State College, Galeana Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Fiat and Kia, Sallee Productions, and fundraisers within Lee County District Schools.

About the Academy of Teachers

The Academy of Teachers, an initiative of The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools, is made up of all the Lee County District teachers selected as Golden Apple recipients from 1987 to the present. The teachers meet regularly to share best practices for excellence in teaching. Their purpose is to inspire and support excellence in education.

About The Foundation

The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools Inc. is a private, 501(c)3 organization established in 1986. Its mission is to enhance and enrich the quality of public education in Lee County for students and educators through programs, resources, and experiences made possible through corporate, individual, and educational partnerships. The Foundation is rated as a 4-star nonprofit organization by Charity Navigator. Find the foundation online at, on Twitter @FoundationLCPS, and on Facebook.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web