Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

Vote Aug. 24

August 21, 2010
Cape Coral Daily Breeze

Voters looking to cast a ballot before election day have until 5 p.m. today to do so.

In the Cape, the early voting location is at the Cape Coral Branch Office for the Supervisor of Elections, 1031 S.E. 9th Place, No. 3.

Voters also have four other location choices including two in Fort Myers, the Lee County Elections Main Office at 2480 Thompson St. and the Election Center Branch Office at 13180 S. Cleveland.

The offices are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

On Tuesday, the polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at precincts across Lee County.

Although the ballot is plump with partisan primaries, including two Republican primaries for the Lee County Commission, there are some important races in which every registered Lee County voter can cast a ballot.

Three of the five school board seats are on the Aug. 24 ballot as are two county judicial seats.

These races are countywide and non-partisan, meaning voters may cast a ballot in each race regardless of where they live in Lee County or the party to which they belong.

Running in the nonpartisan races for school board are: District 1 - Mary B. Fischer, Arnold A. Gibbs and John E. Traube; District 4 - Don Armstrong and Steven K. Teuber, the incumbent; and District 5. - Thomas Scott and Elinor C. Scricca, the incumbent.

Running for County Judge are: Group 3 - Robert J. Branning, Miguel C. Fernandez III, Frank Mann Jr. and David J. Shestokas; Group 4, Eric P. Feichthaler and Archie B. Hayward Jr., the incumbent.

Primary candidates for the Lee County Commission in District 1 are: Chris Berardi, Robert "Bob" Chilmonik, Mike Jackson and John E. Manning, the incumbent. Primary candidates for the Lee County Commission in District 2 are: Brian Bigelow, the incumbent, and Sonny Haas, Cecil Pendergrass and Dick Ripp.

We again thank these candidates for stepping forward, and we invite Lee County voters who have yet to cast a ballot to become informed as to the positions they have shared.

For those still seeking information on the candidates, it is readily available on various campaign and media websites, including our own at . You will find our election coverage under Election 2010 with the other news categories in the column on the left hand side of the page. In addition to news stories, we have posted biographical information and Q&As submitted by candidates in the Lee County Commission Republican primaries and non-partisan school board races. We invite you to read.

In addition to preparing news stories and gathering information from the candidates, The Breeze also has made recommendations in the county commission primaries and the school board races. In summary, the Breeze recommendations are:

Breeze Endorsements*

* Race: Lee County Commission

District 1

Republican primary

Vote John Manning

* Race: Lee County Commission

District 2

Republican primary

Vote Cecil L. Pendergrass

* Race: Lee County School Board

District 1

Non-partisan (everyone votes)

Vote Arnold A. Gibbs

* Race: Lee County School Board

District 4

Non-partisan (everyone votes)

Vote Steven K. Teuber

* Race: Lee County School Board

District 5

Non-partisan (everyone votes)

Vote Elinor Scricca

* Full candidates endorsements may be found on-line at under "editorials."

- Breeze editorial



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web