Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS
 
 
 
Guest opinion: Florida Legislature delivers on promise to address local water challenges

May 24, 2019 Being born and raised in Southwest Florida, fighting for clean water is personal to me. more »»

Public outrage on China trip handling justified

May 24, 2019 To the editor: Cape Coral residents have every right to be outraged by the way Mayor Coviello has handled the proposed plans for a delegation, including himself, to visit China. more »»

Unanswered questions on the city’s trip to China

May 24, 2019 To the editor: I spoke during citizens input at the Mayor and Council Meeting of May 21 to ask the following questions: You voted on the China trip last week that was not on the agenda nor was it... more »»

China trip a waste of taxpayer dollars

May 24, 2019 To the editor: City leaders going to China is another example of this city wasting our tax dollars. more »»

Are we willing to pay the price for open borders?

May 24, 2019 To the editor: The letter this week with the statement we need “to guarantee constitutional and international human rights to those who need those rights the most” confounds me. more »»

Parental involvement is important

May 24, 2019 To the editor: As a mother of four children, ages 21, 16, 14, and 7 months, I am able to see how fast time really goes and how precious time with your children i. more »»

Governor needs to sign bill

May 17, 2019 To the editor: House Bill 4301 and Senate Bill 2500, Cape Coral Sirenia Vista Park Design of Environmental Center including Utilities, has passed by the FL Senate and House and, as of Thursday... more »»

Trip vote wholly improper

May 17, 2019 To the editor: Monday night’s Council Meeting was surely something to behold! They voted on something that was not on the agenda nor was it added to the agenda at the beginning of the meeting. more »»

How much is a life worth?

May 17, 2019 To the editor: I saw on News4 that Project Lifesaver is being discontinued by the Lee County Sheriff’s Office because it is too expensive. I have to disagree with eliminating this program. more »»

U.S. should support the universal right to protection

May 17, 2019 To the editor: The stories coming from the southern border of children being ripped apart from the parents as they seek safety and stability are a tragedy for the U.S. more »»

Congress must address prescription drug price gouging

May 17, 2019 To the editor: A recent news article reported that more than 40 states are suing pharmaceuticals for price gouging. more »»

Shareholders should share the penalties for corporate malfeasance

May 17, 2019 To the editor: It is time to reconsider the nature of the beast, the corporation. more »»

Guest opinion: Making progress on harmful algal blooms

May 10, 2019 Earlier this week I had the opportunity to host officials from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and National Oceanic and Atmospheric... more »»

Pinata politics

May 10, 2019 To the editor: As I write these words, the Florida State budget is now on its way to the Governor’s desk for signatur. more »»

Schools are the last place guns should be

May 10, 2019 To the editor: If Americans could choose only one place in their lives that guns would be banned, they would choose schools. Responding to gun violence with more guns does not work. more »»

Plastic bags kill thousands of sea creatures annually

May 3, 2019 To the editor: Yet another marine mammal—this time a dolphin calf—has been found with a stomach full of plastic. The small dolphin was found on Fort Myers Beach, far from her deep-water home. more »»

Tree city?

May 3, 2019 To the editor: Regarding the Arbor Day tree planting: Given that we lose tons of trees from each hurricane, don’t you think it would be better to plant more than one tree? At $2 per capita, that... more »»

Act of kindness greatly

May 3, 2019 appreciated To the editor: Thank you to our anonymous “mail angel” who lives in northwest Cape Coral. more »»

Libraries: More timely than ever

May 3, 2019 To the editor: Have you said, or have you heard it said, “Why do we need libraries anymore”? If so, you need to check out what is currently offered by these “white elephants. more »»

 
 
 

 

I am looking for:
in:
News, Blogs & Events Web
 
 

Letters To The Editor & Guest Opinions Poll

  1. Attend a ceremony or visit the cemetery.
  2. We privately pause to mark our county’s military sacrifices, but don’t usually attend anything public.
  3. Barbecue with family or friends.
  4. Enjoy the three-day weekend.
  5. Nothing special; for me it’s another day.
  6. I work.
  7. Other.